The Year 2010 That Was: The Good

Some of the nicer things that happened in the year gone by

The Naukri
Yes daddy, I got a job. Azim Premji (Wipro-waale uncle) gave me one. Since most of my peers have got a job in one or the other IT company, it really isn’t something to boast about. But still, first job is first job.

The GRE
Now here is something I should be proud of and can boast about. Laddies and Jantleman, I got a good score in the exam which will me get to the phoren lands to get a higher (High? er?) education. 1460 out of 1600. Not a bad score by any account*. And this with no tuition or coaching. I did take help from some of my friends and I am grateful to them.

*Conditions Apply

The Room
After three years in the rooms of SRM hostels, I finally moved out. I moved in with my friends who were already staying in the plush and posh colony (or NOT) of Srinivasapuram of Guduvanchery. I’ve had some of the more interesting moments of the year there. It deserves a blog post of its own. So will do one later. Suffice to say for now that getting out of the hostel was one of the better decisions I had made this year.

The Football
After many many years, I played football for an extended period of time. The whole of sixth semester was spent playing football in the scorchingest of the Chennai sun. But I enjoyed. Too bad, that we couldn’t continue it in the latter half of the year. Still I won’t deny the calming influence of football had on me on the eve of GRE.

NB: Yes people, I still suck at it. But hey, who’s complaining? πŸ˜€

The Et Cetera
Then there were other little pleasures like getting to see my parents on my birthday after three years, the whole family for Eid, the passing in the semester exams, Sachin’s 200 and 50 centuries, Endhiran first-day-first-show. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

